As of now, you must pay to play online with your more distant friends on the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, and the Nintendo Switch. However, all, few, or one of these services are free on PC, Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo WiiU,  PlayStation 3, and PlayStation Vita. I would add the PlayStation 2 and the Nintendo Wii, but all online servers on those systems are all shut down. So what does this mean? It means you’re burning a giant hole in your pocket that’s what. Obviously, the greater benefit are the (not so) free games. However, you don’t keep them forever. You’ll lose them if your service is up. So I’d recommend actually buying them instead of receiving them through your subscription service. Here’s what I mean. User A subscribes to PS+. User A gets three free games. User A plays those games throughout his service. User A ducks out of PS+. And finally, User A loses access to those games unless User A buys them, or subscribes again. See? They are literally taking your money, which is used to pay for the internet, and other important, and not so important, things. So what does this mean? Online Gaming on video game consoles will die unless they permanently make them free. And by the way that the current FCC Chairman is running things at the FCC, they’ll need to unless they want to get throttled or blocked by their customers’ choice of ISP. I’m not kidding, once a big ISP sees something that makes money, they throttle them to submit to paying more to them.

That aside, it’s also quite greedy. Sony started the trend on their end with the PS4, but Microsoft started it with the original Xbox. In short, Sony is copying Microsoft. And it’s dividing the gamers. A lot are defending with tone def reasons, and the other lot are saying that it’s dumb and needs to be free. I’m more toward the ones that are saying it’s dumb and needs to be free, but I’m also saying that this is Anti-Consumer, and should never had existed during the Console Wars of the PS2 and Xbox era. Because of the prices of all three, though mainly firing shots at the Nintendo Switch Online’s Family Subscription and the Xbox Live Gold Subscriptions for this part, these should be way cheaper than they actually are. Just stating my case on things. The way all three treat free games is making them seem way more like Rentals. I really don’t understand why they can’t actually give us the free game. twitch Prime gives us the games for free. I’m sure there’s another subscription model out there which gives us free games without having to maintain the sub status.

I get making a “Games Netflix Version” subscriptions are becoming a thing, but is it really necessary? There are still gamers, like me, who prefer having a physical copy of the game(s) than Digital. Taking the physical copy aspect out makes me want to start a complaint to the ones who chose this idea? Not me.

That’s all I need to state my mind in for now.